Warning: mysql_num_fields() expects parameter 1 to be resource, boolean given in /nfs/c01/h07/mnt/9412/domains/winecast.net/html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 3073
Wine Blog Award Winners Announced

Wine Blog Award Winners Announced

by Tim Elliott on March 31, 2008

Tom Wark has announced the winners of the American Wine Blog Awards and revealed the judges who not only determined the final nominations but also accounted for 30% of the final vote. And it seems this combination proved successful as the winners didn’t all come down to who could motivate their readers or listeners. In fact, nearly every winner was one I voted for.

American Wine Blog Awards logoWinning for Best Blog Writing and Best Wine Blog is Alder Yarrow of Vinography. Another double winner is Dr. Debs of Good Wine Under $20 for Best Single Subject Wine Blog and Best Wine Review Blog. Both very deserving winners.

Rounding out the rest of the winning blogs, Steve at The Wine Collector took Best Business Blog, my friends at Grape Radio were recognized for Best Podcast or Video Blog, Tablas Creek got Best Winery Blog and Chateau Petrogasm won Best Wine Blog Graphics.

I’ve been somewhat critical of these awards but my remarks have not been taken exactly in the way I’d intended. I never meant my comments here or in the OpenWine Consortium to be taken as an “alternative” to the American Wine Blog Awards but some have taken this view. Whatever the outcome of the discussion, I fully support what Tom is doing to recognize great wine blogs and am looking forward to next year.

So what wine goes with crow, anyway 😉

Previous post:

Next post: